PDA

View Full Version : American beekeeper visiting Scotland

Darren
30-08-2014, 11:51 AM
Hello fellow beekeepers,

I'm a beekeeper from Seattle USA. I'll be in Edinburgh for three weeks beginning September 1st. I'd like to meet other beekeepers to share ideas and learn how beekeeping is done here in Scotland. I have been raising honey bees and solitary bees(Osmia Lignaria) for the last six years. In addition to keeping bees in Langstroth hives for honey production, I've also raised bees in horizontal and vertical topbar hives. I have a keen interest in natural comb beehives. I still consider myself a novice beekeeper and enjoy meeting beekeepers of every level of experience with a passion for bees.

I'm a carpenter by trade and I'd be happy to volunteer my help with any beehive or equipment building project you have. I love building unusual stuff!

I hope to attend the Scottish national honey show in Dundee Sept. 5-7th. I plan on taking the train but if you'll be driving there from Edinburgh and would like company I'd be happy to share the cost of petrol. The Fife honey show in Dobbies, Dunfermline September 20-21st, is also on my wishlist of events to see.
On Sept. 22nd my wife and I travel to Llangollen, Wales for the BIBBA/SICAMM beekeeping conference. Let me know if you'll be attending.

Please contact me with any ideas or suggestions you may have or if you'd like to talk about bees over a pint.

Cheers,

Darren Gordon

Jon
30-08-2014, 01:34 PM
There will be quite of few of the regulars here at Llangollen. Gavin and myself are both speakers and quite a few others will be in attendance.

GRIZZLY
30-08-2014, 02:23 PM
Perhaps see you in Llangollen in Sept . I'm there for the three days.
Cheers. John

Darren
30-08-2014, 09:34 PM
There will be quite of few of the regulars here at Llangollen. Gavin and myself are both speakers and quite a few others will be in attendance.