PDA

View Full Version : Her ladyship ain't laying ...

Little_John
16-05-2014, 08:01 PM
Picked-up a swarm on 24th April - just over 3 weeks ago, and on an inspection this morning I see that she still hasn't started to lay - or at least I haven't been able to see a single egg yet. I watched for a good while and the girls seem to be more-or-less ignoring her: as she moved around the comb they simply moved out of her way. No fussing, no entourage. Nice looking queen, mind.

So, I've put a test frame in, and we'll see if that shows anything. Just wondered - as I'm fairly new to this swarm collection malarky (never had the need before) - how common is this reluctance to start laying again ?

Fortunately I don't really need these laying (or non-laying !) queens - my interest in swarms is only in their workforces for my uber-sized mating NUCs - but this has got my curiosity going ...

I picked up another good-sized identical-looking swarm yesterday (from the same area, too) - so it looks like somebody's let their guard down - and it'll be interesting to make a comparison.

A quid says there'll be another swarm tomorrow (Saturday), as sunny 22 degrees is forecast for around these parts.

LJ

Jon
16-05-2014, 08:21 PM
You wont get a result from a test frame with a queen present whether she is laying or not.

Little_John
16-05-2014, 09:19 PM
Well. I'd rather hoped that they would build supercedure cells if the queen was duff - isn't that what they would do 'in nature' - given that they had viable eggs present ?

Jon
16-05-2014, 09:38 PM
I would think that is unlikely but with bees I suppose you can never say never.
Putting in a protected ripe queen cell might be a better option.
For some reason they can stay very attached to a duff non laying queen.
A lot of fancy dan queens are killed on introduction because the bees already have a non viable queen which they love and cherish!

nellyp
17-05-2014, 11:29 AM